Regional Cultural Asset Portal

Misato-cho , Miyazaki
Related category:
Kagura of Saigo-son Wakamiya kagura, Osawatari kagura, and Shimato kagura    

Digest: 3 minutes
Entire story: 182 minutes
Link to loacal government or related organization

You need Windows Media Player to view the film.

According to tradition, Wakamiya kagura dates back about 1000 years and comprises a total of 16 stages that begins with Jiwari and ends with Inari kagura. From November 22 to the following day, a mikoya (dancing site) is erected, and with this mikoya designated as a temporary shrine, all the 16 stages of kagura are danced. This video introduces the 16 stages. Wakamiya kagura is dedicated on the previous day of Ondasai (held on the first Sunday of July every year), which is a festival carefully handed down in this region, and at the Autumnal Main Festival held as a harvest festival in November.

Select according to your bandwidth
Digest  Narrowband Broadband Broadband
  56Kbps 300Kbps 1Mbps

Entire story  Narrowband Broadband Broadband
  56Kbps 300Kbps 1Mbps

56kbps: For telephone line user
300kbps: For ADSL or CATV user
1Mbps: For optical network user